An Extract of What Remains

Rajdeep Singh
2 min readApr 24, 2021

Some people still remain in your heart not your life.
Glad Munaiseche

Hold tight, hold tight and sing along.
I’m alright, I think I’m alright but I could be wrong.
I know you remember me, when you’re in the back of a ride at 3AM;
When I’m on the dance floor, all that’s left to do is watch it burn.
You couldn’t even look at me, you couldn’t even if you tried;
Oh man, oh man, what a damn tragedy.
Bang, in a moment, there disappeared paradise;
Paradise that I knew better wouldn’t last forever.
I’ve always rolled the dice alone, why’d I let you roll it with me;
It didn’t even take you a moment to drop the penny, you know.
Asking for another seat in a restaurant;
What a bloody thrill, goddamn what a joy.
Now the two seats in the back of the cinema are hazy;
Just like the back seats of your car, now just you and a stranger.
Are yes now you’re trying to forget it all, tell yourself you were right;
Let you convince yourself until you forget, shelter yourself, it’s comfortable.
All the mad shit we did;
Crazy.
You gave me shivers, but now the realisation dawns and I shiver;
You never really knew how to hold on during a marathon.
Running fast like the rivers you’d never experienced;
And when you took a dip, the currents were way too fast.
So you did what you have always done, became stone.
Now I look back and sometimes all I want to do is watch it burn.

--

--